Everyday Cyclist Profiles: Geoff Briers

Here’s another Everyday Cyclist profile, this time from Geoff in the Isle of Man. If you’d like to submit your profile, just send your details, using the format that Geoff’s used below to edmundallen@blueyonder.co.uk with Everyday Cyclist Profile in the Subject line. You can send pics too!

Profile

Name – Geoff Briers

Age – 48

Location – Isle of Man, British Isles.

Occupation – Part owner and director of 2 small businesses (computer services and road haulage).

My Commute – about 6 miles each way, usually on a Honda 250 (ridden gently can get 85mpg), sometimes on an old mountain bike along an all too often muddy track. Very rarely use the car.

My Bike – Moulton TSR9, modified with an extra chainring to give wider gear range and now with drop bars (still friction shifting a 9 speed!)

Tortoise or Hare? – Tortoise, but one that likes to sometimes go quite a long way.

Favourite Local Ride – Early Sunday morning schlep over to the café on the seafront in Laxey with a couple of pals, round trip about 40 miles. Great tea & bacon butties!!

Top Tip – For those of us who’ve been around for a while, take time to warm up, ease into the ride gently and don’t start off trying to be a hero – after 10-15 minutes you’ll be ‘in the groove’.

Everyday Cyclist Profiles – David Estes

Here’s another Everyday Cyclist reader profile, this time from David in Kansas. It’s great to get such an insight into the real world cyclists that inhabit our little corner of the online cycling world. If you’d like to send in your profile drop me an email at edmundallen@blueyonder.co.uk with ‘Everyday Cyclist Profile’ or similar in the Subject box. If you’d like to, send in a profile picture too of you, your bike, or both.

Name: David Estes

Age: 57

Location: Leavenworth, Ks. (near Kansas City metropolitan area)

Occupation: Project Manager (Telecommunications)

My Commute: 2 -3 days a week, partial commute. Commute is 40 miles, I drive 25 and bike the last 15. Usually roads, but sometimes multi-use path and roadway.

My Bike: 2010 Trek FX-3 fitness hybrid

Tortoise or Hare? Tortoise.

Favorite local ride: Rides out into the farm land north and west of Leavenworth. Usally 20 to 30 mile loops.

Top tip: Ride like you drive.

Everyday Cyclist Profiles: Chris Johnson

A few days ago I invited regular readers of The Everyday Cyclist to submit their profiles, share their top tips, favourite rides and bike choices. Already I’ve had a great response, the first of which was fellow blogger Chris ‘Pondero’ Johnson, whose blog I urge you to add to your daily diet.

To get involved, send in your The Everyday Cyclist Profile, using the format Chris has used below, to eddieallen@blueyonder.co.uk, putting the words ‘Everyday Cyclist Profiles’ or suchlike in the Subject line.

Anyway, over to Chris…

NameChris Johnson

Age – 51

Location – 6.5 miles northwest of Sanger, Texas, USA

Occupation – Civil Engineer

My Commute – 20 miles each way (when I’m in town), only occasionally by bicycle unfortunately

My Bike – Rivendell A. Homer Hilsen (650b), and Kogswell P/R (fixed wheel)

Tortoise or Hare? – Tortoise (but with an imagination)

Favorite Local Ride – Any door-to-door loop I can do with a guest

Top Tip – Don’t forget the value of the short ride. Sometimes 15 minutes can make a huge difference.

Share your Everyday Cyclist Profile

image

Ok readers, it’s time to hear your Everyday Cyclist stories.

I’ve been watching my blog stats with a beady eye lately and they’re slowly rising, gaining momentum. Which got me to thinking… There must be lots of Everyday Cyclists out there with stories to tell, advice to share and lore to impart.
With this in mind I’ve decided to go for a little audience participation. I’d like you to send me your Everyday Cyclist profiles, based on the template below. In the spirit of sharing and getting the ball rolling, I’ve filled it in with my stuff.

How to share your profile: Send your profile, complete with a portrait pic if you like to edmundallen@blueyonder.co.uk and I’ll post it as soon as I can. If you’re sending a pic make sure it’s no bigger than 1mb or something sensible.

My Profile

Name: Eddie Allen

Age: 38

Location: Liverpool, UK

Occupation: Web Editor

My Commute: 3 days a week, combining bike and train. 12 miles per day, all year round

My Bike: Homebrew tourer/allrounder bike based on a steel Saracen hybrid frame and fork.

Tortoise or Hare? Tortoise, without a doubt.

Favourite local ride: I love rides that start and finish at my front door. Mersey waterfront from Hoylake to Woodside on a hot day takes some beating.

Top tip: Take your cycle computer off your bike a judge your ride on smiles not miles per hour.

Posted from WordPress for Android