Wind, water and steel

UntitledYesterday’s ride was tough.

I hadn’t intended to go out but botched arrangements left me with an afternoon to kill and so I did.

I chose my ‘urban odyssey’, a 37-mile largely traffic-free loop around Liverpool that never takes me more than half a dozen crow-flies miles away from home.

I began by taking the Liverpool Loopline south to Halewood then on to Speke before joining Liverpool Promenade at Cressington.

Right along the ‘prom’ with a howling westerly giving me a proper workout before cutting through the north docks and onto the Leeds-Liverpool Canal at Stanley Dock.

From here I followed the towpath to Aintree Racecourse before joining the Loopline at the northern end near Canal Turn and heading back home.

It was a tough ride with gusting winds making steering and pedalling a challenge. And the picture highlight? Undoubtedly the massive Vidar offshore jack-up ship berthed at the Pier Head. An awesome sight.

Leave a Reply

