The Everyday Cyclist has evolved

Regular readers will have noted that I’ve been far from a regular blogger of late. Indeed I have been conspicuous by my absence since October 2011.

See the thing is, the sale of Resurrectio my trusty green bicycle, and the subsequent replacement with a newer, speedier bicycle, a Ridgeback Flight flat barred road bike, had resulted in a revolution in my cycling.

I’m riding more. I’m following road racing. I’ve been spotted on at least two sportive rides and at a roadies cycling cafe. It may surprise the EC faithful that I’ve purchased items of Lycra.

Some readers may turn away. Some may continue to follow. New readers may tune in. Who knows.

One thing is for sure. I’m still cycling every day. Or something like that. But I’m going a little faster and a whole lot longer.

My setup is no longer rustic but I still wear wool under my cycling jersey. I hope that everyone whose been reading so far can see past the aesthetic and keep tuning in.

11 thoughts on “The Everyday Cyclist has evolved

  1. Stephen

    I was beginning to wonder if the whole cycling mojo had disappeared! Certainly I struggle after a long winter. The telling aspect of what you wear is what you wear to pop to the shops.

  2. fwinter

    I guessed this may be the case – I am going the other way, from semi-serious road cycling and MTBing to a gentler all-round cycling. Inspired mainly by this blog ironically!

  3. How great to have you back! Revolutionized, no less! I’d be quite interested in the transition, the motivation, and the new kinds of fun you are enjoying.

    I feel in the midst of an evolution myself. Got a new ride with more spirited, longer rides with a randonneuring inspiration in mind.

      1. Stephen

        MAMIL?

        Who am I to talk I rode with colleagues after work the other day on new bike (cyclocross, with road tyres and mudguards) but not in my normal baggy shorts. Probably first time in 10 yrs I have openly worn lycra.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Yes indeed. It’s about 6:40am now and I’m about to head for the railway station for stage one of my three part commute.

Leave a Reply

