Kickstands rule

image

Back in the early 1980s, the aspirational bicycles for teenage boys were those wonderful ten speed racers that lived in the back of mail order catalogues. Every new season, you’d enthusiastically thumb through those flimsy pages until you found the bike section, where the latest Raleigh, Peugeot or Falcon would gleam back at you. These ‘sports bikes’ would all feature suicide levers, short mudguards, freewheel discs and, that killer feature, the Kickstand…

I’m a big kickstand fan. Few bicycle accessories have such a splendid balance of function and style. The ability to prop one’s bicycle up wherever one chooses is not to be underestimated and the sight of a machine propped thusly is the very zenith of cycling cool.

So get a kickstand and join the revolution.

6 thoughts on “Kickstands rule

  1. Ian

    Quite agree with the kickstand comments,have had one on my Galaxy for years and wouldn’t be without it.

    For the tandem though,being an ungainly beast,I have bought one of these:

    http://www.click-stand.com/Home_Page.html

    A simple but excellent idea,especially if you don’t want to permanently fix a stand to the bike.,would recommend.

    Used it on the tandem for the first time a few weeks ago and was very impressed.

    Ian

  2. I’ll admit that occasionally I think about that kind of convenience, but normally not having one is a non-issue for me. I just don’t think about it. I can only aspire to be so cool.

  3. Adam

    I agree I was just thinking about this… why do you have to remove your kickstand if you’re a real “serious cyclist”. i love it, plus i don’t want to scratch the paint on my 73 Schwinn (Chicago) SuperSport.

Leave a Reply

