Schwalbe Delta Cruiser update, glass and superglue

Velouria, curator of Lovely Bicycle has recently posted on the subject of cream tyres, a subject dear to my heart, which has given me cause to give you a quick update on my recently acquired cream Delta Cruisers. This post was also inspired by a recent glass/tyre interface, which happened on the way to work.

 

The Cruisers in all their glory a few days after purchase - showing a little canal towpath beausage - A month on and with more miles they look even better - think vintage trainer soles....

There I was, Monday morning, cycling towards the office on the cycle lane that runs past Manchester City Stadium, in that blissful, serene state that cycling alone can give you. Clearly I was a little too blissful, because, in my reverie, I failed to notice the jagged broken bottle top placed strategically by the glass elves, front dead centre in the cycle lane.

My attention was however, eventually pricked by the loud hissing noise issuing from my back tyre. I cussed, stopped and assessed the damage, fearing the worst.

I unloaded the bike (which as stacked with a camera equipment after my jaunt to the Cycle Show), removed the wheel and took a look. Close inspection showed two big slashes in the tyre, cutting through the tread and the red coloured puncture protection strip. Don’t think for one minute that this counts as a ‘fail’ for the Delta Cruisers. I’m certain that this bottle top chunk would have sliced my Panaracer Pasela Tourguards clean in two.  With this philosophical thought in mind, I replaced the tube and carried on to work.

Add this to your 'at home' bike tool kit and fix cuts in your tyre tread.

 

Later on when I got home, I cleaned the cut area of the tyre and allowed it to dry, before repairing the cut tread with superglue (that’s a TOP TIP right there folks).  So I’m pleased to say that barring this potentially tyre-ending encounter, the DCs have coped with glass strewn streets and paths with aplomb. They also grip really well on most surfaces apart from deep mud, where no non-knobbly tyre can find real grip.

I’m also happy to report that they look better with every ride. I was worried that they’d look horrible covered in daily grime, but if anything, daily usage and normal cleaning = tyre beausage. They have a real antique/veteran look – and they now have the veteran’s battle scars to match!

3 thoughts on “Schwalbe Delta Cruiser update, glass and superglue

  1. Beausage. That’s a new one on me, but hey I’m running with ya! Wend’s tyre’s in that case have some of that Beausage too, and nice they are with it ;>)

    You’re right about the old sneakers shade – a bit like a pair of Dunlop Green-Flash after a few weeks of wearage.

    And great top-tip too. Never considered it for tyres, but can vouch for it – I repaired a split exhaust mount once for a vehicle at work, spurred on by an old-timer there who’d done the same years before with an engine mount. Just doused on the glue, clamped it in a vice & left overnight – job done.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      My colleague at the bike shop years ago Araldited a chainring tooth back onto a customer’s bike once. It must have worked because he didn’t come back! Not in the CYTEC training manual that one!

Leave a Reply

