More Mixte Emotions

The Friday Cyclotouriste - an SF based comrade in the 'ride beautiful bicycles slowly' struggle

It seems I’m not alone with my distate for velo-gender-prejudice. Nathan at the achingly well-shot The Friday Cyclotouriste rides his Nishiki mixte (avec basket) with pride. He also stated his case far more eloquently and succinctly than I could ever hope to:

“People sometimes tease me for riding a girl’s bike, but I could care less if it’s a girl’s bike. This is not just a case of a well developed Jungian anima at work. The step-through frame is downright practical for city riding and for things like getting on and off at red lights.”

Check out the full blog entry and more here: http://thefridaycyclotouriste.com/?p=2752

7 thoughts on “More Mixte Emotions

  1. Eddie…thanks for the shout out!

    What a great blog!

    I really enjoyed the recent MM post (I’m so envious of your country’s train system).

    And speaking of mixte’s, Rivendell bicycleworks, is about a 40 minute drive from me, which makes me think I should go see the Yves Gomez in person.

    Anyhow, keep up the good work Comrade!

    Nathan

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Thanks for the kind words Nathan. So you’re envious about the UK rail system… Cycle/rail policy is very patchy/piecemeal – I’m just lucky where I live I suppose. On the subject of envy – I’m seriously envious of you living just 40 mins away from the hallowed ground of Rivendell! Cheers, Eddie.

  2. For what it’s worth I think a gent on a mixte is the epitome of class! So much nicer to behold than a lycra-luvvie hunched over their bike and sweating profusely. Style over machismo any day.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      I quite agree – hence why I’m bidding overenthusiastically on a 30 year old raleigh mixte on Ebay as we speak!

  3. dexey

    I’ve twice come off my Dahon in recents weeks and both times have stepped out of the cleats, over the frame and ended up on my feet alongside the bike. On a diamond frame I’ve always ended up on the floor tangled with it.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      The step through frame is a great feature for all manner of elegant dismounts. And yes, it’s amazing how quickly you can get out of cleats when you need to!

Leave a Reply

