Bring Back the Humble 10-Speed

Our friend above is right to look proud of his Schwinn 10 speed - it's probably still knocking around today.

Some might say that the mountain bike revitalised the bike industry when it arrived in the late eighties. And if you look at the sales figures, it’s probably true. The MTB was a huge shot in the arm for an ailing bike industry. However, at the same time as stimulating bike sales, it put the final nail in the coffin of a bike style that dominated for over a decade – in the US, it was termed the Ten Speed – in the UK is was just called a Racer.

The genus of bike we’re talking about here is the lugged steel, drop handlebar bike, with clearance for reasonable tyres (28-32mm) and provision for mudguards and a rack. It wasn’t made of exotic materials (usually hi-ten steel) and basic models came with steel wheels and low end components – however, the bikes themselves were robust, cheap, and unlike the entry level MTB and hybrid of today – efficient, fast and fun to ride. Tour de France winners they weren’t, but as everyday bikes, they excelled. So much so that many survive to this day – hand-me-down machines serving out life sentences in the hands of students looking for a cheap and funky way of getting around.

Since the death of the ten speed, a process of velo-diversification as occurred – the MTB arrived in the bicycle-gene pool and eventually mutated into various different sub-species – cross country, downhill, freeride to name but three. The hybrid bike was a further mutation of the MTB and a nod back to the big-wheeled efficiency of the ten speed – but the ‘beige slacks and sensible shoes’ image of the hybrid has been hard to shake. Road racing bikes have undergone a renaissance since the MTB era but the template of the rugged 10 speed racer has been lost and forgotten.

However, a few manufacturers remembered the 10 speed/Racer with fondness and have recreated neo-ten speeds, or at least something close. Minneapolis based Surly Bikes have created a range of rugged steel road bikes, the Pacer, Cross-Check and Long-Haul-Trucker, ranging from lightweight road bike thru to expedition tourer. But these bikes aren’t cheap. Sure they’re great value, quality cromo-framed machines, but they’re not the cheap-as-chips, lock-and-leave everyday bikes that the old ten speeds were. Similarly, Rivendell Cycles’ range of practical road bikes, the Sam Hillbourne, A Homer Hilsen, Ramboiullet and the Bleriot have all rekindled the spirit of the ten speed, but in a boutique, high-end format. What we need is a rugged, no-nonesense ten speed for a new generation.

Modern day fixed wheel bikes are perhaps the closest modern day approximation of the 10 speed ideal – tough, low key steel frames, yet light and nimble enough to be a fun ride in the city. I wish that just one of the multitude of fixed gear producers would just slap a derailleur hanger and some gears on one of their low end steel fixie frames and reinvent the ten speed – I’m convinced they’d sell in container loads, to a huge swathe of riders, from baby boomers to jaded fixie riders whose knees are crying out for some lower gears for the hills.

Ideal Spec: Neo-Ten Speed

So what’s the blueprint for a modern day ten speed? Here’s my stab at an ideal spec:

Frame – lugged steel (and I mean plain old hi-tensile steel) – skinny, round tubes, horizontal top tube, clearance for 32 mm tyres, braze ons for rack, guards and brake bridges positioned for deep drop brakes calliper brakes.

Fork – lugged crown steel with a classic curve

Wheels – tough 36 hole rims (wide enough for 32mm tyres) on sealed freehubs – nothing fancy.

Brakes: Tektro deep drop callipers with separate (i.e. no STIs) brake levers

Gears: Bar end/down tube shifters (with friction option)

Bars: Traditional round bend (i.e. not anatomic)

Stem: traditional quill

Tyres: 32mm Panacer Pasela or similar

Saddle: Brooks B17

The whole bike would weigh in at around 30 lbs and combine ruggedness and speed in a way that modern bikes just can’t match.

Examples of the breed:

Raleigh Winner: early 1980s

Image by rodcorp on Flickr: http://www.flickr.com/photos/rodcorp/3560756408/

Object of desire for 70s kids like me – available everywhere from bike shops to mail order catalogues – remember putting an ambitious felt-tip ‘x’ by it in the leadup to Christmas. Steel frame, steel wheels, Weinmann brakes, Simplex gears – drop bars, suicide levers and a bottle and cage thrown in. A winner in every sense

Falcon ‘Team Banana’

image at http://www.retrobike.net

Lugged steel bike in the classic ‘team replica mode’. Fast, fun and hugely robust for a bike with skinny tyres. Got me to and from my first job twice as fast as an MTB – cruelly stolen from me one summer day…

Falcon Eddy Merckx – 1970s

Inspired by the great Belgian Cannibal, made in Brigg, Lincolnshire - image from here: http://www.kichline.com/chuck/bikes/default.htm

Lugged steel, Rigida Supercromix rims, Simplex gears, Weinmann Brakes – orange and blue team replica colours – tough as nails, my first ‘racer’ – ignited a lifelong love affair with the bike.

But enough from me – let us know your ten-speed memories. Would you like to bring back the ten speed? Share your dream ten speed spec (remember, nothing expensive or exotic).

70 thoughts on “Bring Back the Humble 10-Speed

  1. Oh, I couldn’t agree more!! I find it rather hard not to resent MTB. Great to see them used in the dirt, but, why-oh-why do people buy them for commuting on the bitumen. When there’s an inexpensive 10-speed (steel) back in town I’ll be the first in line. Meanwhile, I’ll have to keep robustly chugging along on my LHT (only using 1/3 of the gears). I love it to bits, but, would so like an inexpensive beater too.

      1. How could the new mountain bikes save people money when they making the new slow racing bikes that cost the customers thousands . The ten speed is the worlds fastest bike .

  2. Chris Thompson

    LOL. I’ve been pedaling around town, and up hills on my new Giant Rapid 3 wondering why I need 27 gears (or, is it 24?). I’ve conquered every hill so far but one in the middle cogs. If I’d known it would be so easy I would have got a single speed.

    Chris

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      You’re right Chris – I’m sure there’s a Law at work with gears and hills. The greater range of gears you have, the more complacent you get, and the lower gear you require. When I rode my bike singlespeed I’d just hit the bottom of the hills faster, get out of the saddle, drop my weight on the pedals and hope for the best. If I ground to a halt, I’d get off and walk, fully deserving a rest. But most of the time, I’d get to the top, just fine.

      1. Dooley

        You should try a 29er Mountain bike. These machines really fly – you won’t worry about the 10 speed after you use one of these.

  3. In the mountain bikes favour, I love Cantilever brakes rather than Calipers for the extra power they give & extra mudguard clearance, but if I suggest them for your list it’ll start looking more like a Cyclecrosser or Tourer ;>D

    Some say the 10 speed itself didn’t do too much for cycling, in the same way that others criticise the mountain bike – because it popularised sporting bicycles rather than truly practical Roadsters – bikes that came equipped with mudguards, sealed hubgears, a chainguard, a carrier & a comfortable, upright riding position.

    Totally agree with you about shifters. I’ve got bar-ends on a tandem & compared with the indexed gears on my mtb/STIs on my roadbike – there’s just no contest. Not only that, they are almost indestructable!

    Have you seen Ridgebacks website? A couple of their cheaper tourers are almost in the 10 speed’esq ballpark…

    …if you squint a bit & use your imagination!

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Yes Ridgeback (and their sub-brand Genesis) have been doing some interesting bikes for a while. Agree regarding the power of cantis over sidepulls – however I just love the look of deep-drop sidepulls like the Tetkros.

      Cross and touring bikes are, these days, the nearest thing to a multipurpose, lively bike out there. The Surly Cross Check has long been on my wanted list – a really adaptable, stylish and low-key frameset.

      Ed

  4. Nonsteeler

    Another frame that seems to fit (vaguely) in your outlined category is the Planet-X Kaffenback/or it is single speed brother On-one Pompino frame. Although not gas pipe steel nothing fancy and rather cheap (esp. if you reside in Europe).

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Nonesteeler – I’ve been tempted a few times by the Kaffenback – though I wish they made it with bigger clearances….

  5. Big heed

    Ed
    You’re damn right again
    Dora used an old 7 speed Raleigh Candice that was the same idea while she was at uni. It’s now still rolling with it’s 5 th owner.
    It survived a daily commute, off road touring with panniers and the odd long ride without even a clean, and you know I’d mess with it if it needed it!
    What a machine..bring back raleigh

  6. Pingback: 10 Speed Dreams – Part One | The Everyday Cyclist

  7. Currently outfitting my restored 79 Schwinn Le Tour with Paselas, 7 speed mega range freewheel and suspension seat post. Time to take it off the pavement into some dirt! You can follow my blog postings about my progress.

  8. Insti Gator

    Article was a good read. However, you are speaking from the perspective of someone who has always loved those old 10 speeds because that’s what you grew up with. Especially when you say, “Object of desire for 70s kids like me – available everywhere from bike shops to mail order catalogues – remember putting an ambitious felt-tip ‘x’ by it in the leadup to Christmas.”

    That’s just it. Objects of desire for 70’s kids like yourself – now what about the next generation?

    They don’t want 10 speeds – especially the ones your describing.

    Hand a teenager a 10 speed and they clamber about with the tight tolerances of skinny low profile tires and narrow, unwieldly drop bars. No question about it 10 speeds are HARD TO RIDE! Hand that same teenager a comfortable, more upright 21 speed mountain bike with reasonable 2.XX width tires and riser bars. They can manuever infinitely better.

    I understand you want to “relive the old” days when 10 speeds ruled the world, but lets just be clear – There is a reason they are not mainstream or hardly being manufactured any longer.

    Food for thought. 🙂

    1. alex

      I’ve sold twenty steel road bikes this year and 90% of the buyers are young university students, 80% are girls. It’s simple to understand why these kids want something faster and cheaper than mountain bikes. Vintage bikes are becoming the new old, and have become the new fashion statement. Hard to ride, I don’t think so. My clients want something their grandfathers rode and the older the more preferred.

  9. Tom

    I have a 73 or 4 I bought then for something like $273. Schwinn World Voyageur. Panasonic made them. Looks EXACTLY like the one with Mr Proud guy. Cept mine has handlebar end shifters. Have been using a cheap MTB til it got stoled the other day. Using this one again brought back how MUCH more fun it was to ride. But I miss a couple things. MTB was a curb jumping monster with shock absorbing fork. Very nice. And the big aggresive tread is pretty hard to get a puncture in. Slicks are EASY to get a flat with. So now I’m looking for a more meaty tire to put on my old 10 speed. Luckily mine is blue, not that awful orange. They made em in yellow too, but ya don’t see so many of those. I ran into a guy who’d riden by bike from europe thru China, til he got in a bad accident. On a German bike that looked pretty much like the old Raleigh 3 speeds. I’m shocked they don’t make 10 speeds like this anymore. Except of course stupidly high priced ones.

  10. James Nolan

    I know what you’re saying and agree to a certain extent, I’m not misty eyed about friction shifters or hi tensile steel or headsets that won’t stay tight or brakes that are poor. But I am getting hacked off with the way the cycle industry are constantly reinventing everything just to sell more bikes. I’d like to see a simple 12 speed bike, 4130 single gauge cromo frame, indexed DT shifters and an A-headset that’ll stay tight. Along with components that are designed to be tough and functional rather than ultra light and disposable.

    I’ve recently started MTB racing on a steel framed, 7 speed (21 gears) Kona cinder cone from 1994. It’s turned a lot of heads at the race meets some people loving it and some people hating being beaten by a bloke on a 18 year old bike with thumb shifters ! but the ‘old’ technology is still competitive and works very well. I’m currently trying to build a winter training bike for road use. I just want simple and robust, the idea of a 10 speed is very appealing but I doubt it will happen. Most companies are churning out 10 or 11 speed cassettes, getting a manufacturer to make a bike with a 5 speed cassette is unlikely.

  11. Mark Pickett

    I agree, I have a steel Kona Honky Tonk 2009, nice, but no clearance for mudguards with 28mm tyres, straight front fork too harsh. Also, the modern 9 speed plus cassettes and thinner chains are rubbish quality, wearing out far too quickly. I even snapped a chain, something I never did even when younger and fitter, on old 5 speed stuff!

  12. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know
    a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something.
    I think that you could do with a few pics to drive the message home
    a bit, but instead of that, this is fantastic blog.
    An excellent read. I will certainly be back.

  13. Appreciating the persistence you put into your blog and detailed information you provide.

    It’s awesome to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same
    unwanted rehashed information. Wonderful read!
    I’ve bookmarked your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google
    account.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      I’m making it my business to root out the remaining ten speeds in the Liverpool area and give them a second life! Glad to hear they’re alive and well in the USA.

      1. theeverydaycyclist

        Sounds like a lot of fun. We used to put flat bars on our ten speeds and have speedway style racing on the park. What larks!

  14. Mosey

    Hello,
    I just bought a fairly well maintained Schwinn Le Tour – not sure of the year, but likely 80’s. I agree with your sentiments regarding 10 speeds and being a 70’s kid. This bike is fast and fun. However, I like the idea of a flat handlebar instead of the drop wrap around. What do you think? Would it be a lot of trouble to convert it and move the brake handles? I dont’ know much about bike mechanics, so I would have to take it to a shop. Would it devalue the bike to change it like that? Not sure I care – I just want to ride it comfortably. Thanks, M

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      It’s an easy conversion. You just need a flat bar and a pair of levers with the right amount of cable pull for the brakes. Levers designed for v brakes won’t work. Not enough leverage. Your local bike shop should be able to help you out.

  15. I don’t agree with the effectiveness of canti brakes. They are a pain to set up and keep set up. I’ve dumped them on my touring bike and replaced them with deep drop sidepulls. I did this after wrestling with a reluctant canti brake at CDG Paris at the start of a tour.
    I also think slicks are fine and probably less likely to puncture than a threaded tyre. A slick is more likely to push objects aside while a threaded tyre will pick it up.
    Ever tried to remove a small object from between the threads on a tyre?
    I have a lovely mint condition 1980s ten speed, 531 framed Raleigh Royal that is beautiful to ride. What progress since then?

  16. Rebecca

    Still having a Raleigh Winner, Christmas list circa 1981, I was very pleased to read your article with the suggestion that it was one of the examples of the breed. I also have a mountain bike, too much like hard work, a Brompton, fabulous for a commute needing to save your bike space and a road bike that I nearly went off the back with as it is so light. So the Raleigh Winner is a winner for me.

  17. C. Ueadan

    “hand-me-down machines serving out life sentences in the hands of students looking for a cheap and funky way of getting around”…

    Welp, that’s me. Just spent the last hour gliding around on a well-used 1980 Lotus Classique, with the original “Arabesque”-motif Shimano 600 brakes, shifters, and deraileur intact and nearly everything else replaced, bought off Craigslist earlier this weekend. Light and beautiful, and it’s incredible just how “outdated” major bike manufacturers consider the low-gear approach – maybe they’ll come around to it like they did with those pesky fixies? Either way, I’ve realized what I was missing growing up with mountain bikes on pavement, and just need to learn friction shifting…

  18. retro rider

    I own 9 bikes, road, hybrid, folding, fat bike but my favorite is a circa 1980 Schwinn world sport. Upgraded side pull brakes, 6 speed cassette, new cheap shimano derailleur with bar end shifters. I ride road, gravel, anything. Hose it down, oil it up and it’s ready to go again. And you know it’s not much slower than my modern road bike, and it’s a lot more comfortable. Love to ride retro:-)

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      I did a 25 mile canal and bike path ride through mud, gravel and sand on my 1983 raleigh clubman and it handled everything. These things were made to use. Not made to sell.

  19. Zach

    You hit the nail on the head. I am still sub-conciously hoping that whoever stole my 70’s Schwinn Varsity from where it was propped up against the garage door (like I did every day until that fateful day) has a change of heart and shows up 20 years later with the bike and an apology. I’d be so happy, I’d prolly offer them a beer! It may seem odd for someone to pine for a simple tube steel sculpture with run-of-the-mill components, just like you describe, but dang if that bike wasn’t reliable and FAST. I used to commute 25 miles each way to work and get there in 45 mins. or less on level roads. Not alongside traffic, but part of it. Getting home took longer, as the prevailing Warm Springs afternoon winds would stand me up and slow me down. I have never had a faster bike, but then I was younger and stronger then.

    Why don’t they make a simple, inexpensive, fast bike these days? Are they afraid of putting too good a value out there and hurting their top end sales? Even my 80’s Trek 790 (530 in Europe) hybrid has me spinning like a top on the downhills, looking utterly ridiculous while not going that fast. I have to replace the top gear on that with a bigger one. The Genesis 29er was fast for an MTB, but took considerable revving up to get there. Someone cut a hefty cable to get that one from me.

    I’m in England atm and looking at a Raleigh Winner right now on Gumtree, for something to get around on, but they want too much for it, I’m afraid. I will be looking at others like it. Thanks for the nostalgia.
    This is a necro post, but I had to put my 2 pence in.

    1. Andrew Wheatley

      I still have my Raleigh Winner from the late 80’s when I was a student. I bought it for £60 second hand and used it for about 15 years regularly to commute to college and work. I even got splattered once by a car. I flew over the bonnet of the car while the bike simply bounced off the car’s front wing not even buckling a wheel.

      I dug it out from the back of the shed over Christmas and it was in a sorry state. Unloved for a decade I thought I would bring it back to life. It needs 2 new wheels, tyres, brakes and cables. Having searched around on the internet it’s best part of £200. So my dilemma was do I spend the cash reviving my speedy old faithful or invest in an entry level modern version for £400.

      My heart won the day and the parts arrived today. I just couldn’t allow my old bike to go off to the skip. Possibly a new bike would be lighter but will it give me the same financial return and even cope with the abuse should I contemplate loading it up for a cycling tour to Holland again?

      My Marin hardtail mountain bike is great bombing around off road but it simply can’t compete against the speed and enjoyment zipping along a country lane in the middle of summer with just the air whistling past and not the thudding boom of knobbly tyres pounding the tarmac.

      It’s going to be fun weekend fitting the new parts and resurrecting the old lady. Hopefully my trust in her will be justified and not through rose tinted glasses.

      Worst case is I have to spend a bit more on a new frame and eat humble pie off the bike manufacturer’s table.

  20. Scott

    I started with a 1982 Free Spirit, as a christmas gift, and put 26 miles a day on it, until I turned 16. Now, being in my mid 40s, I just restored an 83 nishiki custom sport, and put a rack on it. It is my grocery getter and time machine. After the first block, I am 12 years old again, and I am finding out more about the town I live in on that bike than I ever would have in a car. The kids I work with (20 somthings) tried out my bike,and are now buying them too. I had to send text lessons on how to friction shift. The old road bikes, in my eyes, are a better value, and better ride than the new bikes. Have fun folks.

  21. sad

    Quill stem is pretty but the treadless actually is an improvement. I say go with the new style on that.
    Not ergo bars… You mean drop bars with the trendy shape, right. Right. Just more junk. However; bars should be designed for humans. If that’s a drop bar, then so be it. But my two bikes don’t have’em.

  22. Alec

    Hi All, here in the UK British Eagle has marketed a retro styled racer type bike with an alloy frame and a 2 x 7 speed gear train including downtube shifters!. It’s currently available from Argos for £239 and its spec is as follows:-

    Product description / spec

    The British Eagle Revival is built on a lightweight 6061 alloy frame with road specific geometry. The low profile aero-blade fork reduces drag and provides a sturdy and responsive ride. It is equipped with 14 speed Shimano gearing with Shimano retro down tube shifter brazed to the frame, providing a smooth shifting action through the Shimano rear derailleur. The wheels are constructed in a 36 spoke radial lacing to provide strength and rigidity.

    The front and rear dual pivot alloy calliper brakes provide reliable braking whilst the quick release lever allows the brakes to open up wider for hassle free wheel replacement. The front quick relaese wheel hub allows for easy transportation, storage and tyre changes when out on the road. Lightweight alloy cranks keep the bike light and agile.

    Alloy frame.
    14 gears with Shimano shifters.
    Shimano gears.
    Shimano TX35 rear derailleur.
    Front calliper and rear calliper brakes.
    Steel forks.
    Weight fully assembled 16kg.
    28 inch wheel size.
    31 to 37 inch inside leg measurements.
    Road and trail specific tyres.
    Double-wall rims.

    Just in case your heart was yearning for something retro but without the need to re-build a rusty old Gumtree find!

    Enjoy

  23. Jörn Küppers

    Hi,

    I am looking for parts for a good touring/randonneur bike. I have got an early 90s touring bike which is perfect for this purpose. The bike has got Deore XT components. want to switch the bars to drop bars and found some vintage steel drop bars, which allow me to use the XT shifters. The drop bars come along with Weinmann suicide levers. Do they work well with cantilever brakes? Thanks for your advice!

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Hi Jorn – I have never used cantilever brakes with the suicide levers but can’t imagine that they’d be too good.

  24. Sam C

    Loved reading this article. Its survived for years too! Thats what happens when your passionate about something!

    Still riding my Raleigh Esprit what a lovely bike!

    Happy cycling people!

  25. I do have fond memories of the “humble 10-speed” and I also remember my mom lecturing me for weeks because I paid more than Walmart prices for a bicycle when I was a senior in high school.

    That being said, I feel that a 1×10 or 1×11 700c hybrid/fitness bike (with a wide-range MTB cassette and fenders to avoid road spray) is an untapped market because I have co-workers who are intimidated by front shifters, so this would be a way to get them onto two wheels,

    And for the record – I took the suicide levers off and tossed them after a close call in the rain. I’ve learned the hard way that bone bruises actually hurt worse than broken bones.

  26. Steve English

    I still have my very first ten speed Schwinn continental. Bought for me by my Grandmother 42 years ago. It is in absolute mint condition. Not a scratch or rust anywhere. I have kept it in my bedroom my entire life. Never outside, never in a garage. I am looking at it as I type this. My Grandmother was so proud of that bike! Every single day for an entire summer I rode to her house and had lunch with her.There is simply nothing that reminds me of her more than my bike. I am 56 now and ride it several times a week. Every time I get on it I get a flood of great memories! Most people cant believe it is 42 years old. They just built things a lot better back then. It is a tank of a bike, but then I don’t intend on racing any time soon. The old ten speeds were well built and good looking. Best of all you didn’t have to mortgage the house to buy one!! In todays world of high tech everything, I thoroughly enjoy getting on my vintage ten speed and leave all the cars stuck in traffic behind. Low tech rules!!

  27. The Yorkshire Devil

    Just caught this post, wow it was started a few years ago and still going strong. I have just been given a Falcon Banana 12 speed, as in the photo above. Not sure what I will do with it, I am a bit shall I say scared of the roads these days, in my young days 25 mph along on my Peugeot without a care in the world. The frame might be too big for my little legs and those match stick thin tyres.. will they hold close to 100kgs . I have noticed while on my mountain bikes I seem to fly along, or is it just my ear lugs are further up in the air ! I got a cheap Raleigh Pioner for towing and that does fly ! so I cannot wait to try this Banana out, after I have done a full service, what are my stomach butterfly’s for ? anticipation of what ?

  28. Nev

    I’m peddling my Dawes Galaxy 10 speed @69-72 6.1 miles each way to work (uphill both ways!)
    They still make this lovely commuter. It’s now called the “Galaxy Classic” with the B17 Brookes saddle but for the price you can buy a ten year old 200 mile an hour “Superbike”!

  29. Peter Merchant

    Still riding my 1970’s Raleigh Grand Prix that I brought to England from Canada. Like the one at the top of the article, it has Simplex changers, and they were made of a plastic type stuff called Delrin, which over the years has sort of cracked and spread apart, so I found a replacement. I keep thinking of getting a newer bike, until I get out on this lovely machine. 10 speeds are still around. I cycled beside a guy riding a 1980’s Viking the other day.

  30. Alan Shand

    I hope the stores don’t start selling the old style road bikes again, because I restore and sell old 10-speeds and they’d put me out of business.

  31. Zeke Zyzypt

    Just started using an old Raleigh Winner to commute to work and as a city runabout – best ride in years and takes me back to my youth. Googled the Winner and chanced upon theeverydaycyclist and this thread – heartwarming stuff.

  32. Dave W

    Great ! I’m currently getting my 30 year old Coventry Eagle back on the road.
    Want better braking so the Weinmann single pivot canti’s are going and the steel rim wheels.
    Front derailleur needed replacing so got a lovely black Shimano Tourney 7 speed.
    I’ll upgrade from a 5 sprocket freewheel to a 7 cassette free hub and get the stays widend for the new fangled 130mm hubs 😀
    Leaving down tube shifters, can’t beat them and the suicide levers which I always liked but then if serious braking you just flip to the drop levers
    Thanks for all this, I got bike in 1986 for my 16th birthday. Only a few minor chips and scratches and as its and all 531 frame, forks and stays, it’s light weight. My friend with a modern road bike couldn’t believe that it didn’t weigh much more than his 😄

  33. bmwt

    There was an attempt to bring this bike to market. Merry Sales USA (Soma, IRD, etc) created a new brand “New Albion”. Under that moniker they made the “Homebrew” – a lugged Hi-ten traditional framed and spec’d much like you have envisioned. I think it had one production run and no more. They have a mixte – the “Starling” and a full Cromo “Privateer” model. See newalbioncycles.com

  34. I have a 1972 Schwinn Super Sport in Opague Green. Love it for going and riding around town. I just love the lines of the old steel frames.
    I also have a 2001 Jamis Ventura 27 speed steel frame. It gets ridden more than the Schwinn. But could never get rid of the Schwinn. Thinking about restoring it.

    1. theeverydaycyclist

      Get that lovely old Schwinn back in the road where it belongs. Don’t be afraid to apply a few sympathetic modifications to make it more rideable. That’s what I’ve done to my Raleigh Clubman and I don’t think it’s affected the soul of the machine at all.

  35. Peter Merchant

    Well, If you are ever in Wimborne, you need to stop in at Psychling bike and coffee shop. All sorts of 10 speeds hanging over your head while you enjoy a coffee. He has a facebook page too. I lusted after a Carlton that I saw there last visit.

    View from the control room:

Leave a Reply

