Skip to content

The Peugeot returns

December 27, 2013

20131227-174815.jpg

A few years past, serendipity saw to it to present me with a bike I’d longed to own since my teenage years. A ten speed Peugeot Premiere from 1987, which I bought for just £10 from a local junk shop and restored back to rude health.

After a few months I gave it to my brother who had laid his car up for a while. Essential transport became a cycling bugbite, spawning a rash of bikes. Soon the Peugeot became surplus to requirements and made its return to the Allen fold.

For a few months it lay in wait, or more precisely, hung purposefully in the shed on its hook.

Some time off work over the festive period has allowed me to rekindle my cycling, which had for a few months laid fallow (along with its attendant blogging).

Some mud plugging on the single speed Viva in the local country park gave me the idea of reviving the Peugeot as a Mud Pug, a cyclo-cross bike on the cheap.

Its generous clearances (a feature shamefully absent on modern road bikes) allow for suchlike rubber options, and High On Bikes of Southport speedily delivered a set of 30mm Schwalbe CX comps for £25 a pair. They fit perfectly under the generous drop Weinmann 500 series brakes, with more mud clearance than many proper cyclo cross bikes.

I’m pretty pleased with the results. And can’t wait to get it out in the woods, as soon as the current gales abate.

This is the first of a few rejuvenation projects. Stay tuned.

20131227-174754.jpg

5 Comments leave one →
  1. ian permalink
    December 27, 2013 7:13 pm

    Yeah they’re good flexible versatile bikes arent they. I have the premiere s bigger brother and have owned it since 1989. Frame and forks stem etc are probably only original bits left. Running gator hard shells on nearly new 27 x 1.25 wheels and have 14-32 rear freewheel.

    • theeverydaycyclist permalink*
      December 27, 2013 9:31 pm

      Sounds like a nice machine Ian. You’re right. Flexible is the word. Sadly modern road bikes have largely had that flexibility designed out of them, with a few notable exceptions.

      • ian permalink
        January 10, 2014 8:14 pm

        yeah. (catching up with discussion very much later on). I also have a modern BTWIN Triban 3 (http://www.decathlon.co.uk/triban-3-a-id_8239800.html) and its a cracking bike in many ways and I can maintain much better journey times than on the peugeot – but somehow I cant see it being around in 25 or 30 years time. also I’m loath to take it off tarmac !

        not nearly as flexible

  2. December 28, 2013 4:19 am

    Great to see a fresh post here! Great work on the bike. I think you have a great plan and I’m looking forward to hearing how it performs.

    • theeverydaycyclist permalink*
      December 28, 2013 11:33 am

      Thanks Chris. It’s good to be back. Financial reality has forced me to commute by car rather than train/bike so my cycling is currently purely recreational, which is no bad thing. I ride when I want, where I want.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 130 other followers

